Term Party

Today is Gabriel’s due date. He is officially a term baby! He made a sound today that I haven’t heard from him before and he was more active and engaged than he has been. He is such a curious boy and he loves going through two or three or four diapers during diaper changing time every three hours. He was really wanting to play today, but…

Gabriel has been congested this last week and some of the nurses have been aggressive in suctioning out his nose too deeply and forcefully. Since he also had the nasal cannula and feeding tube in his nose, his nostrils became inflamed. Two nights ago when I left, he was on 30% oxygen and by yesterday morning, he was up to 45% and his whole body was working to breath. This terrified me because I knew that if he couldn’t breath through his nose, he would have to be intubated and put on the vent. And for what? Because a couple of nurses decided to shove the neosucker down his nose every couple of hours? I was really worried. The doctor was brought in and she ended up taking the feeding tube out and pulling the nasal cannula off. Immediately he started satting better (the oxygen saturation in his body improved). He was put underneath an oxyhood…an extremely humidified (with added oxygen) dome. He’s still under the oxyhood. It’s so sad to see him, or not see him actually, under the hood because it covers him from his shoulders to his head and it’s so humid that it’s completely fogged over. I can’t see him. Not only can I not see him, but I can’t hold him either. He was awake more today than he has ever been and he got to stare into a fog filled dome. I felt awful this morning. I ended up writing his name on a piece of paper in sharpie and drawing squares, circles, hearts, and triangles on the ends of the letters. Our nurse laminated the paper so I could stick it to the inside of the dome. The doctor is hopeful that tomorrow he can come out from under the hood and not need any additional breathing aid, no machines or added oxygen.

I’m prayerful that my little Buzz Lightyear doesn’t need to keep his helmet on any longer. He’ll love this picture as he gets older: Gabriel the Space Ranger!

Happy term birthday my silly boy. I wish,with everything in me, that I could give you a kiss right now. I’ve never been more proud of anyone in my whole life. I’ve never loved anyone as much as I love you. I will do anything for you. I’ll always be here. You are my hero baby. -Mommy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Term Party

  1. Steph Haaser says:

    Happy Term Birthday, Gabriel! To infinity and beyond! šŸ™‚

  2. Amory says:

    Yeah Gabriel!! Happy 40 weeks!! You’re getting closer buddy… each and every day!

  3. beth says:

    Happy “term” Birthday Gabriel!!
    Katelyn that’s the first time I’ve heard you say “mommy”…way cool.
    A happy day for you both!!!
    Hugs…

Leave a Reply

